This Water Tower Was Converted into a High-Rise Apartment

Belgian Water Tower Home

Image source: Ilovebelgium.be

I remember way back in grade school I had a homework assignment where I was supposed to write about my room. Each student wrote four paragraphs, with each paragraph corresponding to a wall of his room. The next day we got together to talk about our homework and I was completely blown away because one of the students had eight paragraphs. You see, her family just happened to live in a lighthouse, which had eight walls instead of using a conventional square-shaped design. I remember thinking, “What?! People can live in lighthouses?! I wanna live in a lighthouse!”

That’s one of the first instances I can remember of the world challenging my preconceptions. Nowadays, I’m always exited to find out about a piece of architecture that challenges norms and approaches conventional architectural concepts in innovative ways. And today we’re getting into truly bizarre territory with this water tower house.

Water Tower Home

Image source: Ilovebelgium.be

If you’re anything like me, then the last thing you think of when you see a water tower is, “Man, I’d love to live there.” They’re usually not the prettiest things in the world and they tend to stick out like a metallic sore thumb. The folks at Crepain Binst Architecture had a different idea. They converted this concrete-and-metal water tower into the ultimate bachelor pad.

The building features five rooms/floors stacked vertically on top of each other with a set of stairs leading up to the next level. Walking up and down those stairs every day might seem like a pain, but the view more than makes up for it. Each floor is wrapped in semi-transparent glass that gives the inhabitants a panoramic view of the surroundings. The top-most floor acts as a sort of greenhouse for a winter garden that will bloom in the chilly Belgian air.

Water Tower Home Bedroom

Image source: Ilovebelgium.be

But I’m sure you’re wondering, “What about the water tank?” They emptied the tank and drilled a hole in the bottom of it so that it can act as a kind of attic. That kind of begs the question: what would you do with a water tank attic? Store boxes and old clothes up there? Throw parties? Set up an entertainment center? You could always go the Okeanos Group route and install a beautiful aquarium. The windowless metal drum would be the perfect home for species of fish that live in the depths of the ocean and can’t handle a lot of light.

Hole into Water Tower

Image source: Owi.bz

I absolutely love this water tower home, though I’m still not quite sure that I’d want to live there. The architect stuck with a grey, industrial aesthetic as an homage to the original water tower. This abode certainly cool, but I wouldn’t call it warm.

Water Tower Home Interior

Image source: Ilovebelgium.be

Leave a Reply

